Shoes

IMG_2063

Allow me to introduce you to my shoes. This is my second pair of Brooks PureConnect. This particular pair and I have been running together for 6 months now, averaging anywhere from 15-30 miles per week, and still going strong.

Finding a pair of running shoes that are perfect for you can be an arduous ordeal. It took me a very long time to be as comfortable in a pair of running shoes as I am now. Since the age of 10 I ran in Asics. I still find them to be well made, and serve a wide variety of foot sizes and shapes. I ran my first marathon in a pair of two year old 30$ Asics. Please do not ever underestimate the power of an affordable shoe.

My journey to the Brooks Pureconnect came directly after that marathon. The two year old Asics were effectively dead at the finish line (as were my legs), and it was time for a new shoe. I had extensively researched the market, and was looking to move into a more lightweight shoe. Not a complete minimalist shoe, but something between the cushioned heel of Asics and other popular shoe brands, and the Vibram Five finger shoe. I landed on the lightweight PureConnect after trying severalbrands on the treadmill of my favorite local running shop Rogue Valley Runners.

Truth be told, despite all the algorithms available to pick the perfect shoe, it comes down to form and function. I was looking to run faster, with better form, and fewer injuries. The studies available lately regarding running biomechanics demonstrate that runners who strike the ground at the mid-foot tend to have fewer injuries. In order for this to happen, the big cushioned heel must be moved out of the way. Running with mid-foot contact involves contacting the ground at the middle or closer to the ball of the foot-which is different than proper walking mechanics, which involves a heel first contact.

Having said all of this, if you have found yourself happy and comfortable in a cushy heeled running shoe, and you are meeting your goals and not getting injured, by all means, do not mess with your running style or your shoe! In my professional experience I have seen a myriad of different movement styles in this world, and though I see that some may lead to future injury, some don’t. If your proverbial wheels are not broken, then keep rolling along!

But if you are in the market to try a new shoe, I must say-I love my Brooks, and look forward to many more beautiful runs with them.

Make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shoes

  1. Evelyn G. Baker says:

    This is Auntie Evelyn looking at your blog forwarded to me by your Grandma. Say how about a
    good “walking” shoe???. I can’t seem to find a comfortable one for my big toe that has an ingrown toe nail and I keep having it trimmed back. My doctor is after me to “walk more”. OOXX

Leave a Reply

