On Natural Anti-Inflammatory Foods

Given my history of celiac disease, a gastro-intestinal condition in the auto-immune category, I am always seeking new ways to introduce gluten free anti-inflammatory food to my diet. The nature of celiac is such that if I eat food that has been cross-contaminated with gluten, I become quite ill, and my small intestine becomes inflamed. Furthermore, these foods are helpful in tissue healing after grueling training runs. Thus, I have compiled a list of foods with anti-inflammatory properties according to the National Institute of Health (NIH), and some ideas on how to implement them into your diet.  I have also included Honey, as burgeoning studies support its anti-oxidant properties as well.

  1. Omega 3 EFA’s: Naturally found in white fish, primarily cod fish oil. This may be consumed by eating the fish directly, or through a supplement. Ask your physician which dose is appropriate for you. Omega-3 is supported by the American Heart Association as a preventive and corrective asset for heart disease, and has been shown to reduce musculoskeletal inflammation.
  2. Curcumin (Turmeric): This gorgeous herb is derived from a flowering plant in the ginger family and is often used for cooking. I has demonstrated musculoskeletal anti-inflammatory properties as well. I use it when cooking Paella and Indian dishes, however in order to prevent denaturing of its useful properties, I add a teaspoon of it raw to my morning smoothies.
  3. Green Tea: This widely publicized drink has long been known to contribute to lowered inflammation, weight loss, and prevention of heart disease. It is now also touted as a preventative measure for arthritis. Recommended dose tends to be at least 2 cups per day. I try to drink this in the morning instead of coffee at least 3 times per week. I also like to try to drink it after lunch at work as a pick-me up.
  4. Ginger Root: noted to decrease nausea and decrease musculoskeletal inflammation, I use this raw in a few Thai dishes (recipes to follow soon), as well as raw thrown into my morning smoothie. I use approximately a 1” chunk , cut into smaller pieces and thrown directly into the blender with fruit and a small amount of rice milk.
  5. Capsaicin (chili pepper): This one was a surprise to me. I use it when cooking chili and other southwestern dishes, however I figured that it was probably not doing me any favors in the inflammation department. The NIH notes that it does indeed act as a nociceptive blocker thus reducing pain, and as an anti-inflammatory agent despite the burning sensation it can induce in high quantities. It seems that the true medicinal properties of this herb are best realized when combined with other agents into a capsule form, thus a good question to your physician if this is a route you are interested in taking.
  6. Honey: there is growing evidence that honey not only acts as an anti-oxidant, but it may have anti-biotic properties as well. It is growing in popularity as a beauty product agent due to its anti-oxidant properties and the soothing affects on skin when used topically, as seen in Burt’s Bees and a myriad of other products available over the counter. This is also a great one to throw in the morning smoothie in addition to a small teaspoon in tea or over gluten free crackers. Yum!

Stay tuned for gluten free Recipes in the future that include the above noted goods!

Make your day great!

Amanda

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3011108/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19142984

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Women's Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Natural Anti-Inflammatory Foods

  1. thglutenfree says:

    Thank you for a useful post! I’m coeliac and anti-inflammatory foods rank high on my remedy list.

    -Kristine

  2. Great list! Mmmmm – ginger root. a little bit goes a long way, and makes a great warm drink with raw honey mixed in. Thanks for the info!

  3. Johnb202 says:

    Spot on with this writeup, I actually believe this website needs a great deal more attention. Ill probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the info! dbgfdcecfgbe

Leave a Reply

