Gluten FreeDairy Free Chocolate Energy Bars

Whether you are anticipating a busy day at work, or preparing for a long run, these energy bars will be your friend. I adapted this recipe from Scott Jurek’s book Eat and Run, My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness . Scott Jurek is  vegan, thus the recipes in his book are intrinsically dairy free, however I have had to pull out gluten containing foods to accommodate for celiac disease. I also swapped other ingredients to add in anti-inflammatory foods as well as foods with lower glycemic index. The original recipe is “Chocolate Adzuki Bars” in the phenomenal runner’s book. Below is my take on this delicious energy bar:

IMG_2095

½ tsp. coconut oil

1  15-oz can adzuki beans, drained

1  banana

3/4 cup Coconut flour

1 cup rice milk

6  tbs cocoa powder ( I like Bob’s Red Mill)

3 tbs. Natural honey

1 tsp gluten free vanilla  extract

½ cup vegan chocolate chips

Heat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease a 9” square cake pan with coconut oil. Using a blender puree the beans and banana with the rice milk until smooth. Add coconut flour (found in bulk at most health food stores or co-ops), cocoa powder, honey, and vanilla, processing until thoroughly mixed. Pour mixture into the cake pan, sprinkle chips on top. Bake 35 minutes. These turn out looking like Brownies, and you can cut and individually wrap them to pack for your day.

Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten FreeDairy Free Chocolate Energy Bars

  1. Pingback: On: Pre-Race Rituals | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

