Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

I am one who frankly can not get enough pumpkin. Even though this autumnal food has seasonally passed, I decided to de-thaw some pumpkin puree left over from November, and bake up my favorite muffins on a cold February afternoon. The ingredients are a great source of energy, and observe several allergy modifications.

photo (4)

Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

1 cup pureed pumpkin (I make mine from local pumpkins, See instructions below, or you can use canned)

3 Tbs Olive Oil

3 Tbs applesauce

1 Cup sugar (I use coconut sugar)

¼ cup Rice or other non-dairy milk

1 tsp gluten free vanilla extract

1 1/4 Cup Coconut Flour (or other gluten free flour)

½ Tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

To make the puree: Using a medium sized pumpkin, cut into quarters and scoop away the seeds. (These of course may be baked with paprika and olive oil for a wonderful savory snack). Drizzle with olive oil and place concave side up on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 45 minutes or until tender. Carefully remove the skins with a knife and place into a blender with approximately 1/2 cup rice milk. Blend until smooth.

Cooking instructions for the muffins:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with paper liners.

Mix together pumpkin, oil, applesauce, sugar, rice milk, and vanilla.

Sift in flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon.

Fill liners in pan with mixture to just below the ledge.

Bake 20-25 min.

Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Tina says:

    Yum I can’t wait to make those 🙂

  2. Andrea says:

    I just made some of these from a recipe on Gluten Free Goddess…I have some pumpkin left over so I’ll be making these next!!! Thanks!

    • They are wonderful! I think that I have shared with you before how much I enjoy coconut flour, I wonder if you will be able to find some where you are? I will have to check out Gluten Free Goddess, I keep hearing how wonderful she is 🙂

  3. Pingback: On: Gluten Free Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

