On: Pre-Race Rituals

While I’m not superstitious, I do observe a comfortable routine the week leading up to a race or event that I feel gives me confidence and helps me perform my best. Rituals and routines give us a mental framework to prepare for events, and healthy preparation ensures that our body is primed to perform. As many of my running partners are racing this weekend, I thought I would post my comforting rituals. Whether I’m running close to home or traveling to a destination race, I try to follow the following routine:

1.       No alcohol the week before a race. I enjoy a good glass of wine with dinner, and avoid drinking excessively as it is, however the week before a race I abstain from drinking. This is in effort to maintain hydration, and get adequate sleep.

 2.       Avocado Sushi Rolls for dinner the night before the race. This is a light comfort food, non-greasy, easy to find in most cities, and gluten and caisen free. I love it. I can’t tell you how many friends try to carb-load the night before the race and end up cramping up with stomachaches during the race. True carb-loading is  quite the scientific process, and the original method entailed completely depleting your carbohydrate stores, and then loading up substantially approximately 72 hours before competition. The method has been modified due to recent studies in Australia to bypass the depletion phase and begin with carb loading (70% of caloric intake) 72 hours before competition. The key here is to include your heavier grain meals three days before and not the night before.

3.  45 Minute walk in a relaxing environment the night before. This serves both a physical and psychological purpose. I get to stretch  my legs a bit, get the blood moving, and enjoy my surroundings.

 4.  I only race in shirts that my husband gave me as gifts. Ok I guess I am a little superstitious. My husband usually gives me new running clothing for birthdays and holidays, and he has good taste. They are tried and true, the annoying tags are removed, and there is nothing on them that rubs or otherwise annoys me. My favorites are Nike and UnderArmour:

		Nike Miler<br />

		Nike Miler Long-Sleeve<br />

Women's UA Escape 3

5.       My favorite Gluten Free Dairy Free Energy Bars for Breakfast. Clean energy that does not upset my stomach, these are also a comfort food. My recipe is based on the great Scott Jurek’s Chocolate Adzuki bars, and can be found on my prior post:

 https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/2013/01/31/on-gluten-freedairy-free-energy-bars-honestly-they-are-great/

 What works best for you? How do you stay relaxed, or prepared?

Find your own rhythm, and stick to it, it will serve you well!

Make your day great!

Amanda

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running, Women's Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On: Pre-Race Rituals

  1. Pingback: On: The McKenzie River Half Marathon, Introspection and race review | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

