On: Rosemary Salmon and Southwest Quinoa Salad

Salmon is one of my favorite meals, and it is an added bonus that it is packed with nutrients. As I prepare for a race this weekend, I will be making several quinoa salads, and have included my favorite recipe with the salmon this evening- a perfect pair!

photo (17)

Ingredients and Preparations:

Salmon:

1 lb. Salmon

3 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil

3 Cloves of Garlic

2 sprigs of Rosemary

Preparation: lay salmon skin side down onto a large piece of tinfoil. Fold edges to create a small box. Combine olive oil and garlic in a small bowl, drizzle over salmon. Lay rosemary over the top, and wrap foil over the top of the small box to enclose it.

Grill over medium heat for 15 minutes. 

Southwest Quinoa Salad:

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)

4 tbs. applecider vinegar

2 tbs. cumin

1/3 cup chopped cilantro

1 jalepeno-chopped

1 cup corn

1 avocado-sliced

Preparation: in a medium pot, bring water to a boil and add quinoa, cook on stove top on medium-high heat for approximately 5-8 minutes, until soft. In a medium bowl, combine quinoa, corn, cilantro, and jalepeno. In a small bowl combine EVOO, applecider vinegar, and cumin. Pour over quinoa mixture and mix thoroughly. Add sliced avocado over the top.

photo (16)

 

Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

 

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On: Rosemary Salmon and Southwest Quinoa Salad

  1. Andrea says:

    Love your centerpiece!!

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Recipes for Holiday Entertaining | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

