On: Traveling and teaching Pilates

If you are a certified pilates, yoga, zumba, tennis, golf, aquatics, or group fitness instructor, you simply must become a member of the Fitness Travel Pro Community. This organization, run by the amazing Suzelle Snowden is a fitness instructor’s dream.
Essentially, the program allows you to travel to 4 and 5 star all-inclusive resorts throughout the world (predominantly in the Caribean) in exchange for teaching 1-2 classes per day during your stay. Once accepted into the Fit Pro Bodies Inc. community, you can travel as often as you like, and all you pay is a booking fee to the company to secure your stay (ranging from 350$-500$) and your airfare, and the rest of your stay is covered. You are always allowed 1 adult guest, and more times than not, 2 kids may travel with you as well.
The application process is simple. Visit http://fitnessprotravel.com/Travel-Spots/search-category/search_specialty:9/

DSCN2304Jamaica

In the upper right hand corner of the website there is an option to “Contact Us”. You may contact Suzelle’s crew this way with any questions, or you may create a password and user name to access the site, and down at the very bottom there is a link to “Get started” in order to submit your application. You will need to be able to fax them a copy of your current certification and provide a resume of your experience teaching. Suzelle and her team are really wonderful and can answer any questions that you may have, and believe me, the application process is easy and well worth it!

My husband and I have done 2 trips now since signing on a few years ago. Thus far we have traveled to Jamaica and the Dominican Republic with fitness travel pro, both times traveled in November which is off-season. These trips are wonderful, wherin I am granted the opportunity to teach classes in some of the most beautiful locations in the world, some studiosare indoors, most of them outdoors on the beach, and to the most relaxed and content students that I will ever have.

I also value these trips because they have allowed me to meet some really wonderful people and to grow as an instructor. Perhaps the funniest teaching experience that I have had so far came while in the Dominical Republic. One of the classes I taught was attended by 3 Russian women in their late 50’s to early 60’s. I speak English and Spanish, and they spoke only Russian. Thus, this was one of those classes that I had to rely heavily on my own posture and use gestures and lots of demonstration to teach the class. We ended with a Cat/Camel stretch and one of the women was so excited to inform me that she knew this stretch that she grew a huge smile on her face explained something in russian and during the Cat stretch bellowed ‘MEEEOOOOWWWWWW!”  She obviously knew the English form of cat language. 

Traveling abroad has always been an important part of my life, and this is such a great way to get away and teach in a completely different manner. I highly recommend it, and if you apply, let them know Amanda sent you.

Make your day great!

Amanda

DSCN2309 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Pilates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

