On: Tru Roots Gluten Free Penne Pasta and Ground Turkey Sauce

I have trialed many gluten free pastas, and Tru Roots is one of my favorites. This penne pasta does not fall apart after cooking and stays in one piece as a left over. Some brown rice pastas disintegrate and can have a slimy consistency which is not appetizing. The Tru Roots company also produces a fantastic bag of quinoa and a gluten free grain mix that is a nice change of pace from plain brown rice.

photo (34)

 

The recipe that I will share is the easy way out, with store bought marinara sauce  instead of homemade, but it’s easy to spruce it up and make it your own. Let us call this middle of a rough work week pasta.

Ingredients:

3 cups of gluten free pasta- Try Tru Roots Penne

1 lb lean ground turkey

4 cups marinara sauce

1 tbs. oregano

red peper flakes (season to taste for a little heat)

Additional vegetables: 1 cup mushrooms, 1 bell pepper (chopped)

Directions:

Basic pasta instructions, cook pasta in boiling water. Brown ground turkey over medium heat, add chopped vegetables and marinara sauce, oregano, and red pepper flakes. Drain noodels and give them a quick rinse in warm water, then serve with red sauce.

photo (35)

Serves 4 (or 2 with left overs for lunch!)

Enjoy and make your day great!

Amanda

 

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

