On: Gluten Free Italian Chicken and Snap Peas with Bacon

It is an unseasonably cold day for June in Southern Oregon, and thus called for a warm meal. Luckily we are far enough into June that I was able to cook with fresh veggies from my garden, and  gifted to me from my neighbors. The chicken dish is a quick and easy favorite that I used to court my husband, and the peas are even easier and equally delicious. You might be noticing a trend with the quick and easy gluten free dishes on weeknights, you can count on me to keep these coming, because goodness knows when I get home I am tired, hungry, and ready to get my evening going smoothly.

So here my friends, a warm, hearty, early summer dish:

Ingredients for the Chicken: (I made this for 2 this evening, it can easily be doubled for 4)

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 scallion-chopped

1 cup porcini mushrooms-chopped

2 cups marinara sauce

1 tbs. oregano

2 slices of cheese: regular option is skim mozzarella, adventurous option is pepper jack

1 tbs. parmesian cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit

Place chopped scalion into the bottom of baking dish. Filet chicken breasts open leaving a seam intact, and place sliced cheese into opening  of each, then close them up and place them over the scallions.

photo (54)

Add chopped mushrooms into the areas around the chicken breasts, then pour marinara sauce with oregano over the top. Sprinkle parmesian cheese over all of this, then cover with a lid and place in the oven to bake for 35-40 minutes.

photo (55)Before

photo (57)After: A warm cheesy bowl of YUM

While the chicken is baking, prepare the Snap peas:

Ingredients for Snap Peas with Bacon

1 tbs. coconut oil

1 clove garlic-minced

2 cups snap peas, stem and head removed, left whole

2 peaces of bacon cooked and chopped

Directions:

Heat coconut oil and garlic over medium heat for 2 minutes then add snap peas. Cover and let cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add cooked and chopped bacon over the top and mix, heat for additional 5 minutes. Promptly remove from heat and set into serving dishes.

photo (56)photo (58)

Enjoy and make your day great,

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

