Gluten Free Carrot Cake

My husband was having a rough week, so I decided to make him a cheer up carrot cake. Plus, I’m pregnant, so cake is always a good idea.

This is a recipe that I altered significantly, though it is based off of Gluten Free Girl’s carrot cake recipe in her book Gluten-Free Girl and the Chef. I swapped butter in favor of coconut oil, omitted the ginger, cardamom, and few other items to simplify the icing, and changed the type of gluten free flour to make a more lean rendition of  the carrot cake. Remember, lean does not mean sacrifice of flavor, and I find this recipe to be quite tasty.

photo (62)

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Cake:

2 cups fresh carrot juice

1 tbs. coconut oil for oiling parchment paper

1 cup coconut flour

2/3 cup rice flour

1 tsp. xanthan gum

¾ tsp. guar gum

1 tsp baking poweder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp. ground nutmeg

½ tsp. ground cloves

1 cup coconut oil- room temp

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup organic raw sugar

4 eggs, plus 2 eggs separated

1 orange, zested

1 tsp. vanilla extract- be sure to get gluten free!

1 cup carrots grated (or chopped in a food processor)

Icing

1 cup cream cheese

1 cup coconut oil-room temperature

3 cups powdered sugar-I used organic

½ tsp. nutmeg

½ tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Reduce the carrot juice: heat a small saucepan over medium heat and add carrot juice. Bring juice to a low boil, then turn heat down to low and allow juice to sit for approximately 20 minutes. Juice should be dark in color, and reduced to approximately ¼  cup.

Prepare Ingredients: Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrentheit. Cut a circle of parchment paper to fit a 9” cake pain. Grease both sides of parchment paper with coconut oil.

Combine the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl: the rice flour, coconut flour, xanthan gum, guar gum, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. Set aside.

In a mixer, blend the wet ingredients: blend coconut oil, brown and white sugars until creamy. Add the 4 whole eggs and 2 egg yolks in one at a time, mixing for 1 minute before adding the next egg. During this process I generally have my Kitchen Aide mixer on low, and just add things in 1 by 1. Add the orange zest, and vanilla. Finally, pour in reduced carrot juice and stir.

Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until mixture is uniform. Then, by hand, add shredded carrots.

Beat the egg whites from the 2 separated eggs until they form stiff peaks. Gently fold the egg whites into the cake batter until uniformly incorporated.

Pour cake batter into cake pan and bake approximately 45 minutes or until a fork comes cleanly out when prodded. When baking is complete, transfer to a cooling rack and allow to cook for at least 15 minutes before applying frosting- I recommend waiting about 45 minutes so that the icing doesn’t melt and make a mess.

To make the frosting: in a mixing bowl combine cream cheese, coconut oil, cinnamon, and nutmeg until smooth, then slowly add in powdered sugar.

Frost your cake and enjoy!

Make your day great,

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten Free Carrot Cake

  1. lisa.wiltrout@gmail.com says:

    It looks yummy! If it cools off I might just have to bake one for myself…or I mean my family.

Leave a Reply

