On: Gluten Free Lean Ground Turkey Enchiladas

Ordering enchiladas in a restaurant when you are allergic to gluten is risky business, and the culpret is not only the tortilla as you would think-although it is important when ordering  to specify corn tortillas. Most restaurants add flour to both red and green sauces in order to thicken them, which is of course kryptonite for us celiac sufferrers and gluten intolerant. Thus, I try to get my fix at home, which also allows me to control the healthyness of the meal as well. Win-Win.

So, here my friends, is my lean ground turkey enchilada recipe with green salsa!

Ingredients:

16 corn tortillas

2 small brown potatoes-cut into small cubes

8 oz lean ground turkey meat

1 cup peas

2 cups green salsa-any brand that doesn’t include flour is a winner (divided)

2 cups grated pepper jack cheese (divided)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium sauce pan, brown ground turkey until thoroughly cooked. In a pyrex baking dish place a base layer of corn tortillas (usually 8 will completely cover the base of the dish). Add in potatoes, peas, cooked ground turkey, 1 cup of grated peppper jack cheese and 1 cup of green salsa.

photo (83)

Cover this mixture with the remaining 8 corn tortillas and smother with remaining green salsa and cheese. Place into the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

photo (84)

Serves 4-6

Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

