On: Gluten Free Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

It is that time of year, one of my favorites to be exact. The time of year when pumpkin sneaks its way into many of the secular foods, and thanksgiving transcends on us like a bright orange maple leaf on a suburban lawn. I love it.

photo (85)

Let us discuss this gluten free, dairy free pumpkin pie recipe. First and foremost, your family and friends do not even need to know that it is either of these. It is delicious, thus there is no need to cloud their minds with preconceived notions of crusts tasting like cardboard or old tree branches. Let them just eat and live in blissful ignorance.  Second: I am a busy woman. I am not going to glorify busyness or proclaim that I am any busier than anyone else but I do work full time (10+ hour days)  as a health care provider, have a board specialty certification exam rapidly approaching in 2 months… and oh, yes, I am 9 months pregnant. So, I cheated on the crust. I’m sorry! I promise in the future to bring you a wonderful, homemade pie crust recipe. Until then, please enjoy the Kinnikinnick premade gluten free pie crust that has brought me joy for years.

Thus, here is the recipe. The Kinnikinnick crusts are small-8” and a bit shallow, so the recipe I have made is for 2 small pies- enough to feed 8-10 people with medium sized slices or 4-6 people on two separate occasions.

Ingredients:

24 oz of pumpkin puree- I did this one whole heartedly with a local organic sugar pumpkin, please see my baking and puree instructions below

1 cup organic brown sugar

½ cup rice milk

4 tbs. honey

2 tsp. guar gum

1 ½ tsp Ground cinnamon

½ tsp. cloves

½ tsp. Nutmeg

2 Kinnikinnick Pie Crusts

Directions:

Pumpkin puree: Cut a medium sized baking pumpkin in half and scoop out the guts and seeds-save those seeds, they can be baked individually for a snack or baked into homemade granola! Place the pumpkin halves face up onto a baking sheet and drizzle with a little extra virgin olive oil, then bake at 350 degrees fahrenheit for approximately 45 minutes. Once baked, remove from oven allow to cool for 5 minutes then carefully remove skin with a knife. Cut cooked pumpkin into cubes and place half in a blender with 1 cup rice milk, blend until a uniform puree is made, then do the same with the remaining cubes and another cup of rice milk. If your puree produces more than is called for in this recipe, save the rest and use to make pumpkin muffins from my previous recipe:

https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/on-gluten-free-vegan-pumpkin-muffins/

Directions for Pumpkin pie:

Combine pumpkin puree with all above ingredients one by one into a blender and mix on medium until mixture is uniform. Pour into pie crusts and bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Remove and allow to cool before serving.

photo (86)

Enjoy! And look forward to more gluten free thanksgiving recipes to come to help you prepare for a holiday in which you can actually eat with allergies!

Make your day great,

Amanda

 

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On: Gluten Free Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie

  1. Pingback: On: How to prepare Gluten Free/ Dairy Free Pumpkin Puree | runningyourbody

  2. Pingback: The Best of Pumpkin for a Happy Gluten Free Thanksgiving | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

