On: Beets, Asparagus, and Brussel Sprout Salad with Honey Balsamic Dressing

 

 

 

 

 

Recently beets have earned themselves quite the reputation as a superfood. They have been referred to as nature’s multivitamin for their wide range of nutrient and vitamin content, and are exceptionally high in vitamin C. I love them, particularly cold, and on salads. This particular recipe includes warm vegetables and tofu with cold beets. It could be served cold as leftovers the next as well, and I am 100% in favor of easy and ready made lunches made from dinner’s leftovers!

beet salad

Ingredients:

Salad:

1 cup chopped asparagus

1 cup brussel sprouts (chopped in half)

1 block firm organic tofu

1 cup chopped steamed beets

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

2 tbs. coconut oil-used separately as 1 tbs.

Dressing:

3 tbs. honey

2 tbs balsamic vinegar

1 tbs. brown mustard ( I use Plochman’s)

Directions:

Place asparagus and brussel sprouts in a baking dish with 1 tbs. coconut oil and cook in the oven at 400 degrees for approximately 15 min. Meanwhile, slice the tofu into small chunks and saute with the other tbs. of coconut oil for approximately 10 min, stirring occasionally.

Place chopped steamed beets into a small bowl. I cheated here and used Trader Joe’s prepared organic beets, served cold. Once the asparagus and brussel sprouts have finished cooking, add them into the bowl, as well as the tofu once warmed.

cooking tofu

In a jar or salad dressing contai, mix the honey, balsamic vinegar, and mustard. Drizzle over the veggies and tofu in the bowl and finish with crumbled feta on top.

Serves 2 as an entree. Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

 

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On: Beets, Asparagus, and Brussel Sprout Salad with Honey Balsamic Dressing

  1. Great recipe! Just a small question: do you steam your beetroot? I use to boil them, but I presume steaming is better?

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Recipes for Holiday Entertaining | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

