The Newport Marathon/ Half-Marathon: Race Review

This weekend marks my first race back at it since baby boy was born 5 months ago, and it was a gorgeous return to racing. The town of Newport, Oregon is an interesting little gem centrally located along the Oregon coast. While the town itself seemed bewildered as to why hundreds of us were there to run, it was supportive and welcoming. This race is a great destination race for families, as there are plenty of great kid-friendly attractions including the Oregon Coast Aquarium in addition to the beach itself.

Driving West-Bound from 1-5 there is a beautiful Elk viewing area along  highway 38.

photo2 (1)

My husband and I trooped up with our 5 month old son, meeting a group of about 15 people from my running group. We headed to a fantastic dinner at the Savory Cafe after packet pick-up at the Embarcadero Resort. The Savory Cafe is a hawaiian/mexican/italian fusion restaurant with a menu full of vegan/vegetarian and gluten free meals. It was the most perfect restaurant for a celiac such as myself the night before a race. I highly recommend this restaurant to any foodie with allergies.

Check them out here: http://savorycafenewport.com/

The race itself began at Yaquina Bay State park. Marathoners and Half-marathoners all began at 7am, and remained  running together through the scenic tourist district on the beachfront of Newport, followed by a jaunt out of the town along the bay.

photo2 (2)

The second portion of the race was out and back, with Half-Marathoners turning at mile 8 and finishing at the Embarcadero Resort.  Overall, the course was fast, flat, and scenic. If you are looking to Boston qualify, or to complete your first marathon running at sea level is a treat, and there is a local microbrew around the corner from the finish line.

photo1 (6)

All done at the finish line, no worse for the wear. Rogue Brewery was pouring full beers for finishers, and my husband was happy to take mine.

photo1 (5)

The finisher medals were designed by a local Newport artist, by far the most interesting finisher medal in my collection!

photo1 (4)

Oregon Coast Artists making one very large fish

20140601_102437

Our lab Sage loves herself a beach

20140601_093736

All in all a great weekend, several members from my group PR’ed and a few were first time marathoners that are now hooked. I am very happy  to be racing again, and this 13.1 was a great warm-up for my race next month in the Central Oregon mountains at altitude, with altitude gains….

Take care, and make your day great!

Amanda

 

 

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Newport Marathon/ Half-Marathon: Race Review

  1. Well done! It is great to hear that you are running again.
    Happy running!

Leave a Reply

