On: How to prepare Gluten Free/ Dairy Free Pumpkin Puree

This is it folks, my favorite time of year. This is the season of the best and most beautiful running, gorgeous colors throughout nature, red wine, delicious locally grown organic apples….. and PUMPKIN EVERYTHING! I used to be a summer loving gal. Then I grew up, got a job, and came to love fall.

So, here we have what I call the “Fall version of messy kitchen day” wherein I prepare the pumpkin puree that I will use for various recipes throughout fall. And Christmas. And if I freeze it correctly, maybe even early spring. Yes, I know, I am that girl, the one who loves pumpkin, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Ingredients:

2 Sugar pumpkins

2 cups Rice or coconut milk ( I used rice milk)

I begin with two “sugar pumpkins”, or “baking pumpkins” as they are often labeled at the pumpkin patch or grocer. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees fahrenheit.

IMG_5130

Pop the stem off the top.

IMG_5132

And cut them in half longitudinally.

IMG_5133

Scoop out the guts, and separate the stringy innards from the seeds. Place the seeds into a medium sized bowl of water. Waste not, want not, we will be roasting those seeds later for a tasty, low fat treat, stay tuned.

Once the pumpkins have been gutted, place them face down (dome-like) down on a cookie sheet, and place into the oven for 45 minutes. While they are cooking, strain the seeds through a pasta strainer under running water until clean, the spread out over an absorbent towel to dry overnight.

After 45 minutes of baking, remove your pumpkins; they should look brown and gorgeous. Allow them to cool for 20 minutes.

IMG_5134

Once they have cooled a bit, use a fork or knife to create separate the flesh of the pumpkin from the skin. If they are well roasted they should readily separate, and you should be able to easily peel the skin away.

IMG_5135

Break the roasted dome into small chunks and place 2 domes (1 pumpkin worth) into a large blender or food processor with 1 cup of rice milk until smooth and thoroughly mixed. Repeat with the second pumpkin, adding in the second cup of rice milk.

IMG_5137

Storage Choices:

If you plan to use all of your pumpkin at relatively the same time, you may freeze it into 1 large freezer bag and place into the freezer until you are ready for it.

IMG_5138

If you plan to use it at various times, to make my pumpkin muffins next week (https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/on-gluten-free-vegan-pumpkin-muffins-part-ii/) ,

and a gluten free pumpkin pie at thanksgiving

(https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/on-gluten-free-dairy-free-pumpkin-pie/) you should freeze it into several smaller bags, so that you may access smaller amounts throughout the season.

In the next few weeks I will be posting an exciting new gluten free/dairy free mini pumpkin pie recipe with homemade crusts, so stay tuned!

Garlic Paprika Pumpkin seed (we will call them fancy seeds) recipe is coming next!

Take care, and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On: How to prepare Gluten Free/ Dairy Free Pumpkin Puree

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Loaf | runningyourbody

  2. Pingback: The Best of Pumpkin for a Happy Gluten Free Thanksgiving | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

