Silver Falls Half Marathon: A race review

If a picture is worth a thousand words, then let’s begin with this:

IMG_5194

Living in Oregon and willing to travel to run, I have had the privilege of running some beautiful race courses both near and far from my home. I treasure each racing experience, and try to seek out new and spectacular races each year, finding delightful redundancy in my exclamation of how  “gorgeous!”, “amazing!” “etc!” many of these races are. This race, however is truly exceptional. I ran this half-marathon in the rain with two sprained toes and did not want it to ever end.

IMG_5188

The Silver Falls Half-Marathon winds through the Silver Falls State Park, just outside of Salem, Oregon. It is predominantly on a trail that runs behind and around several majestic waterfalls, and a serene creek.

IMG_5167

IMG_5173

The trail runs behind two large waterfalls, with slick footing and low clearance that lends to a sense of adventure.

IMG_5181 This is the trail winding behind the first large waterfall.

IMG_5187

And this is the view from behind the first waterfall.

IMG_5169There are large majestic trees

IMG_5162And some bottle-necking on the trail, but only intermittently, and the trail’s beauty distracts from the foot traffic. There are several points during the race that were extremely slick, and footing was unsteady, often causing significant slowing and heavy trail traffic as runners negotiated the terrain, but this is a non-chip timed event, and there is really no hurry. At one point, the trail descended up several (5 or 6) flights of very steep stone stairs. I wore a sturdy pair of Brooks Cascadia Trail runners and I’m extremely glad that I did. The race director sent a set of instructors recommending trail shoes-when a race director comments on foot wear, I listen. As a physical therapist and a human being, it is imperative that I recommend trail shoes for this race. There are several rocky steep ridges, and if you do this race you will need stable and grippy shoes.

IMG_5197Brooks Women’s Cascadia 8 Trail Running Shoes, Color: Aquarius/Hibscs/BearingSea/Blk, Size: 7.5 saved my hide! I’ll do a shoe review on these later, this was my first time breaking in and racing in a pair of trail shoes and I’m very glad that I did. This trail is slick as snot, with wet leaves and slick rocks interspersed throughout the trail.

Here is the second waterfall that we ran behind

IMG_5188

And here is what it looks like to run directly behind a waterfall

IMG_5192

As I said, this was a truly unique experience. All you can do in a race like this is run around with a big dumb grin on your like the running nerd that you are

IMG_5183Big running nerd, sopping wet.

Which brings me to my next topic: it’s wet. This race is run during the first weekend in November, with the Marathon, Ultra Marathon, and 7 mile race on Saturday, and the Half-Marathon on Sunday. Rain in northern Oregon is de rigueur. It can also be chilly. I wore full length running tights, a long sleeve T-shirt, and a lightweight water resistant running jacket and hat, and felt the Goldilocks running version of “just right”. There were runners in less than that and runners in more, but I highly recommend bringing layers. There is a clothing drop point at mile 3.3 if you feel ready to loose layers at that point, but I did not, and there was a very light sprinkle throughout the race, in addition to the precipitation that splashes on you while running behind the waterfalls.

The final mile of the race is crudely yet appropriately named “Nutcracker Hill”. This might also be renamed “Mud Luge”. It was steep going up, and equally steep coming down, and comprised of a thick wet clay-like mud. But alas, hot stew, local brewed coffee, and micro-brew beer await the finisher. The finisher medal is a unique memento of the truly unique race, and one that will bring a smile to my face when I see it, and remember my morning with the waterfalls.

IMG_5201

One happy runner

IMG_5160

Some travel ideas if you go:

The state park has both tent and trailer camping available with full electricity bathroom and shower facilities. Camping in Oregon is cool, but you had best be thick skinned and well-tarped to do it in November.

Salem is the state capitol and only a 40 minute drive away. There are several hotels right on the intersection of Interstate 5 and Highway 22 leading to Silver Falls State Park. My husband and I took the hotel route with our 10 month old, no longer the sturdy camp in the rain folks we once were.

Salem has an excellent selection of food and a very walkable downtown area. If you are a “sushi the night before a race” runner, I recommend Fuji Japanese Restaurant. This amazing traditional sushi fare is exceptional and fairly priced. We ordered takeout and took it back to our hotel room to relax.

This is fast becoming a cult classic race. Last year the site crashed and the race closed in 15 minutes. This year, there were two waves of runners, however the race still closed within a day or two of opening. It is worth it to be waiting at your computer the morning that registration goes live. This is a bucket list race, and one I will never forget.

Take care, and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silver Falls Half Marathon: A race review

  1. This looks like an amazing race. My friend ended up becoming ill and not running, he was super bummed out because it was his last race of the year. I wanted to do the Gorge Waterfalls 50k but I was a little intimidated of how the terrain might be (specifically how slick it would get near the water). Once I get more comfortable with trail running…. I have those same Brooks but I haven’t broke them in yet. This post definitely made me miss running in Oregon.

    • Angela, cone and do this race next year!!! I definitely hear ya on the concern with the terrain. The cascadias really did their job, perhaps once tou break them in and put some long runs on them you will feel ready?

  2. Pingback: Brooks Cascadia 8: Trail Shoe Review | runningyourbody

  3. Pingback: How to safely return to running after a break | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

