Chicken Tacos with Dairy Free Cilantro Lime Sauce

If I was stranded on a desert island and could only eat one food for the rest of my life, I could subsist on tacos. Thai and Indian food are close seconds, but my household  loves tacos more than anything.

These tacos are of course gluten free, and I made a dairy free cilantro lime sauce with a “creamy” consistency.

IMG_5282

Ingredients:

4 organic chicken breasts

2 tbs. coconut oil

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

1 cup chicken broth

3 cloves garlic

2 cups red cabbage, chopped

1 jalapeno, chopped

1 lime

3/4 cup cilantro

1 avocado

1/2 can white beans (I used canneli)

2 tbs. rice milk

corn tortillas

Directions:

Heat 2 tbs. coconut oil in a stove top pot over medium heat. Once melted, add chopped onion and garlic, and heat until onions are soft. Add chicken broth and chicken breasts and raise heat to high. Once contents start to bubble, bring heat back down to medium and allow to cook for 1 hour, chicken should be thoroughly cooked and tender, falling apart when stirred with a fork.

Meanwhile, prepare dairy free cilantro-lime sauce. In a blender or food processor add rice milk, cannoli beans, squeezed lime, cilantro, and avocado.

IMG_5277

Blend until contents form a creamy consistency.

IMG_5278

Seed and slice the jalapeno and the cabbage

IMG_5276

Once chicken has finished cooking, assemble tacos and enjoy!

IMG_5282

Serves 4-6

Enjoy!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Tacos with Dairy Free Cilantro Lime Sauce

  1. Pingback: 5 Marathon Training Mistakes, and how to fix them | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

