Chicken and Vegetables on Gluten Free Flatbread

A synonym for this recipe would be gluten free dairy free pizza. This is essentially a Mediterranean style gluten and dairy free pizza, but I’m not an expert on the semantics surrounding the use of the term pizza and I would hate to go to foodie jail for misleading the masses.

This is a gem of a recipe as we settle into the new year. Whether you need a quick dinner fix, or an allergy free football dish, I’m certain you will like this. If you enjoy wine, I paired it with a bottle of Wine by Joe 2012 Oregon Pinot Noir. I’m partial to this wine. Not just because it’s from Oregon, my favorite state, and not because it’s a pinot noir, my favorite varietal, but because the vineyard sits directly across the street from an elementary school in Dundee where I used to do wheelchair adjustments for kiddos. I have fond memories of the Dundee hills area.

On a side note, I’m scheduled to run my 3rd annual Fueled by Fine Wine Half-Marathon in the Dundee Hills AVA on July 12th (2015). This also happens to be my birthday, and my absolute favorite half marathon race in Oregon. It was rated #13 in Runner’s World list of the best Half Marathons in the country and I couldn’t agree more! This is a hilly terrain race and you will not PR, but at the finish line you will get a Ridel wine glass and open tasting to 22+ of the areas best wineries. To register, visit  http://www.fueledbyfinewine.com/event_information/detail/category/registration_information/

Back to the pizza:

Chicken and veggies on gluten free flatbread with Wine by Joe

Ingredients:

1 pk. Trader Joes Gluten free pizza crusts (it comes with 2 crusts, they are small, this recipe will utilize 1 of them)

1 tbs. olive oil

2 cloves garlic minced

1/2 green bell pepper sliced

4 leaves basil

1/2 cup black olives sliced

1 scallion sliced

1/2 organic chicken breast cubed and pre cooked

1 tbs. coconut oil

1/8 tsp. oregano

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 Fahrenheit.

Cook your chicken in a small frying pan by warming 1 tbs. coconut oil over medium heat, then adding chicken and cooking for 5-8 minutes.

Place gluten free crust on a cookie sheet. Spread olive oil over gluten free pizza crust then add basil leaves. Pile olives, green peppers, garlic, and scallions over the top then sprinkle oregano over all ingredients. Put cookie sheet into the oven and bake in oven for 8-10 minutes until crust begins to brown. Remove and cut into quadrants, and enjoy!

Chicken and Veggies on gluten free flatbread

Enjoy, and Happy New Year!

Make your day great,

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

