Gluten Free Running Fuel

I am often asked what types of running fuel I use for long runs, given that I have celiac disease. The answer is convoluted because I am A) Also allergic to dairy B) Generally sensitive in the stomach  and C) a creature of habit. So the pure answer is that I use GU almost exclusively because I know that my particular flimsy constitution can weather it for 26.2 miles. If we speak specifically, then the answer is GU Vanilla and GU Chocolate… Like I said, creature of habit with a weak stomach. Runners tend to be a bit driven by routine to begin with, so I’m certain that you all can appreciate that when you find a product that works, you stick with it. There are a myriad of other gluten free running fuels available, it just depends on what you can handle. Here are some ideas:

    • GU: All GU energy gels are by nature gluten free. Some are caffeinated, some are not. Some are fruit flavored, some are more dessert flavored. I know runners who swear by the tangerine, and others who love s’mores. As I mentioned, I am in deep gratitude for the Vanilla and Chocolate GU packets. On the other side of the coin I have deeply regretted using some of the fruit flavors-that is just me. Find them here: GU Original Sports Nutrition Energy Gel, Variety Pack, 24-Count
    • Pure honey: There are elite runner’s who swear by pure honey. You can use the little packets available at some restaurants, and take them as a shot as you would any other gel, or make your own little packet by placing local organic honey into a sandwich baggie and tying it off. Simply bite the end off and suck it in when you are ready. Two table spoons of honey can pack approximately 128 calories, which can hold you over for 45-60 minutes of moderate running.
    • Jelly Belly Sport Beans: Confirmed to be gluten free, these joyous little beans can turn your attitude around at the 18th mile. One certain positive attribute is that they are easy to consume while running, what with the whole chewing, swallowing, and breathing paradigm. Find them here: Jelly Belly Sport Beans Assorted Flavors – 24 Packs
    • Two Moms in the Raw Bars: If it’s going to be a long day on the trail, a marathon, or an ultra, I highly recommend these bars. They are raw ingredients mixed together in a highly nutritious bar, easy to carry, and delicious with liberal use of gluten free seeds. Find them here: Two Moms in The Raw Nut Bar Gojiberry Box of 12
    • Hummus: Similar to plain honey, humus is a gluten free, easy to digest, high protein substance that can easily put into a baggie and swallowed whilst running.
    • huma Chia energy gel: chia seeds are quickly becoming a big player in health, wellness, and athletic foods. Rich in Omega-3, they are said to aide in hydration, and blood sugar control.  Find them here: Huma Chia Energy Gel, Variety Pack, 12 Gels – Sports Nutrition for Endurance Exercise
    • Honey Stinger Organic Energy Gel: a little honey, a little tapioca syrum, and a little pick up me up,  and all organic. This gel combines the experience of gel with the taste of honey. It is available in several flavors including acai, pomegranate, and my favorite (vanilla). Find them here: Honey Stinger Organic Energy Gel, Vanilla, 1.1 – Ounce Pouches (Pack of 24)

Gluten free energy gels

What did I miss? What have other gluten intolerant/ celiac runners had good luck with?

Make your day great,

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gluten Free Running Fuel

  1. jaime says:

    FYI, CLIF website specifically states shot cloks and gel are not gluten free 😦

  2. Pingback: Two Moms in the Raw Gluten Free & Vegan Giveaway! | runningyourbody

Leave a Reply

