Tex-Mex Salad with Cilantro-Lime Quinoa (Gluten Free-Dairy Free!)

If I was ever stranded on a deserted island, I hope that it would be an island off of central or south america. Because I could subsist off of some combination of quinoa, beans, and cilantro indefinitely. This dish is tex-mexy, quick, easy, delicious, and the perfect way to break a salad rut. I strongly believe that cumin is the cure all to end salad ruts in general.

Tex-mex salad with cilantro lime quinoa1

 

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts-cut into small pieces

1 can black beans

1/2 cup cilantro chopped

1 cup quinoa

1/2 lime

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1 sprinkle red pepper flakes

1.5 cups romaine lettuce, chopped

1/2 cup olives, chopped

1/4 cup green onions, chopped

2 tbs. coconut oil

Directions:

Heat coconut oil over medium heat in a medium sized pan. Once dissolved, add chicken and cook thoroughly. Once chicken is cooked, add garlic salt, chili powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes.

Cook quinoa in a medium sized pot by boiling it in 2 cups water, or according to package instructions. Once cooked, remove from heat and squeeze lime into quinoa, then add chopped cilantro.

Serve quinoa and chicken over a bed of romaine, and top with green onions, olives, and black beans.

Tex-Med salad with cilantro lime quinoa2

Serves 2-4

Enjoy!

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

