Gluten Free Banana Coconut Cake Bread

I have a little 18 mile trail race in a few weeks, and this training cycle has left me craving sweet things.  I always try to be diligent and limit my sugar and processed food intake, and this time I’m I feeling much better in regards to energy return and recovery. The finished product comes out as a crossbreed between a cake and a bread, and thus could function as an awesome breakfast bread, or as a dessert cake with a fruit reduction over the top. My husband loved it, so it is a winner in our household!

Banana Coconut Bread Cake 2

Ingredients:

2 dates

2 eggs

3 bananas

3 tsp. honey

1/2 cup rice milk

3 tbs. coconut oil

2 cups coconut flour

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Grease a circular cake pan with additional coconut oil.  Then, in an a standing mixer bowl, mix eggs, dates, rice milk, vanilla, and 3 tbs. coconut oil until blended. Add honey and mix, then add bananas and mix. Then, slowly add in coconut flour while mixer is on a low setting, and mix thoroughly.

Mixture is going to have a bit of a crumbly consistency once blended thoroughly. Pour contents into cake pan, and gently press mixture in to create a gently packed, even and flat consistency.

Gluten free banana coconut cake

Bake for approximately 25-30 minutes. Edges will appear brown when cake is done.

Remove from oven and allow to cool before serving.

Banana Coconut Bread Cake Makes a beautiful, non-crumbly cake!

Look for a fruit reduction recipe soon to come!

Banana Coconut Cake Bread and Coffee

Make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free Banana Coconut Cake Bread

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Banana Coconut Bread with Strawberry Reduction | RunningYourBody

Leave a Reply

