Track Workout Tuesday

Track workouts are more fun than you think. If you have the right frame of mind. For me, track workouts that are under my own control feel much more pleasant that the fear and nausea inducing workouts that I did in high school. There is something wonderful about being an adult and being in control of your own nausea, Yes?

My goal is to post a track workout each week. The importance of track work is to improve speed and work on form. If you have a goal of a PR, and are trying to improve your overall speed, you have to practice running fast.  Today’s track workout was basic and straightforward due to the fact that I had my little guy with me at the track and his desire to sit in his stroller has an expiration.

It is important to do a dynamic warm up prior to any run, but particularly before you open it up and run sprints. Plan on a 10 minute warm-up prior to starting a track workout.

A dynamic warm up can consist of:

-Walking and pulling each knee into your chest for 20 ft. (gluteal stretch)

-Walking while kicking each leg up at waist height 20 ft (hamstring stretch)

-High skipping 20ft. (entire lower leg and abdominal warm up)

-Grapevine 20ft. in each direction (also referred to as carioca drills, for hip stretch and foot work)

-Speed work up: Run 50 meters, and begin your run at 20% of maxim speed and gradually increase finishing the 50 meters at 80%. Do this twice. On the third set, begin at 20% and finish at full sprint. These work ups will help your muscles get ready for exertion. Gradually increasing the intensity improves blood flow to the muscles, and will help decrease the risk for injury.

Track workout:

10 repetitions of 50 m. sprints, jogging back to the starting line after each set.

If your child is in a stroller, the jog back may be interrupted with a high five or a sweaty hug, but that’s all the rest you get.

If I may brag here, following my sprint workout I pulled my 18 month old out of the stroller and he and I cooled down by running a quarter mile together around the track. Mr. Q is a natural, and quite talented if I do say so myself. If he loves running I hope that he and I will run together for a very long time. If he doesn’t love running I won’t hold it against him-after all not everyone is born with the crazy running gene. Track workout with kidsOne proud running mama

Have fun, run fast, and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Track Workout Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Track Workout Tuesday: 8x200m | RunningYourBody

Leave a Reply

