Garden Salad and Grilled Chicken with Gluten Free/Dairy Free Honey Mustard Dressing

One of the many things that I am grateful for is the fact that my husband was raised in a family that ate a lot of vegetables. Even more importantly I am grateful that his love of good and healthy food stuck in adulthood, because it makes his marriage to me, the food allergy queen easier on both of us.

About once per week, we make a giant “all in” salad, wherein we throw all of the veggies from our refrigerator (or garden in the summer) into a salad. This week produced a fairly simple salad made special with organic chicken grilled on the bar-b-que, and a hand made honey mustard dressing.  It is entirely easy to fall into a salad rut and become bored with your basic salad. Shake it up with some honey mustard and a little red onion. Enjoy!

Grilled chicken garden salad 1

Ingredients for salad:

2 cups shredded romaine salad

2 organic boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/4 red onion, chopped

1 cucumber, sliced thinly

1 green bell pepper-diced

Ingredients for Honey Mustard dressing:

1 tbs. olive oil

2 tbs. honey

2 tbs. mustard ( I used a provencial brown mustard, use what you have!)

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1 tsp. white balsamic vinegar

Directions:

Grill chicken on BBQ, then slice in thin strips. Combine salad ingredients into a large bowl. Mix salad dressing ingredients in a jar or bowl, dress salad as desired.

Grilled chicken garden salad Serves 2-4 as a dinner size salad

Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

