Happy national running day

nrd

Happy National Running Day my friends! In honor of our special day, here are a few fun running facts:

1. The oldest person to run a marathon is Fauja Singh who was the first 100-year-old to completing the Toronto Waterfront Marathon in 8:11:06

2. In order to run, our feet have 26 bones, 33 joints, 112 ligaments and a network nerves, tendons and blood vessels that accept each and every pound of our body weight through them in order to propel us forward.

3. Your peak running age is 27. Spanish researches analyzed the ages and times of those who ran the 2010 and 2011 New York marathon. The fastest age was men at 27 and women at 29. The times showed  a 2% decrease for each year older than the fastest ages.  I won’t tell you how old I am, but apparently I peaked a few years ago. Bummer.

4. In 1990, only 25% of road race finishers in the US were women. Now the ladies make up more than half (approximately 56%) of road race finishers in the US.

5. When running the 100 meters, Usain Bolt hits a maximum power output of 2619.5 watts, or about 3.5 horsepower. Enough to run your blender to make a smoothie: https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/peach-carrot-vegan-protein-smoothie-with-everlast-vegan-protein-powder/

Have a great running day!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy national running day

  1. Jamie says:

    Ah! I better start running more races haha. I’m just about to peak! Also – go ladies. So excited when I see so many women out on the course now, just absolutely dominating : ) Lots of fun facts! Hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

