Track Tuesday Speedwork: 1000m Peak Season repeats

I have a half marathon this weekend in Sunriver, Oregon. I always look forward to traveling to this Central Oregon gem, though I was informed that it will be 100 degrees on race day, and the race starts at 8 am. Pre-race planning for these conditions have included diligence with hydration, lightening up the attire, and practicing running outside during warmer temperatures.

Today’s speed workout is best used as the last hard workout before a race. It offers a challenge in the legs, lungs, and brain, as speed work tends to do. Enjoy!

Do a dynamic warm-up:

-Walking and pulling each knee into your chest for 20 ft. (gluteal stretch)

-Walking while kicking each leg up at waist height 20 ft (hamstring stretch)

-High skipping 20ft. (entire lower leg and abdominal warm up)

-Bottom kick jog

-Grapevine 20ft. in each direction (also referred to as carioca drills, for hip stretch and foot work)

-Strides: run approximately 50 m building speed up gently from 0-70%

The Workout:

Run 1000m at 5k race pace

Recovery jog 200 m

Repeat 5 times.

Cool down recovery slow jog 400m.

Make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

