Track Tuesday Speed work: Mile Cutdowns

The mile cut-down workout is perfect for longer distance training such as the half-marathon and marathon. Generally speaking, cut-down workouts can be done at any distance, however the mile distance done with repeats allows you to end the workout with a higher overall mileage done faster than usual. The key is to performing each interval  quicker than the previous one.

I’m throwing this one into my training plan this week because I have another half marathon in 2 weeks and though it is a hilly one with 2000+ ft elevation gain, I’d like to put forth a reasonable effort for speed. As a side note, I ran this one on the treadmill because Southern Oregon is in the 100’s all week and I wanted some AC.  This speed workout works fairly well on the treadmill because it requires very little tampering with the speed dials as you will maintain speed for one mile before shifting down and then back up.

Today’s workout goes like this:

Do a dynamic warm-up:

-Walking and pulling each knee into your chest for 20 ft. (gluteal stretch)

-Walking while kicking each leg up at waist height 20 ft (hamstring stretch)

-High skipping 20ft. (entire lower leg and abdominal warm up)

-Bottom kick jog

-Grapevine 20ft. in each direction (also referred to as carioca drills, for hip stretch and foot work)

-Strides: run approximately 50 m building speed up gently from 0-70%

Speed work:

Run 1 mile at 5k race pace +20 seconds, then jog 400m

Run 1 mile at 5k race pace + 15 seconds, then jog 400m

Run 1 mile at 5k race pace +10 seconds, then jog 400m

Run 1 mile at 5k race pace +5 seconds, then jog 400m

Enjoy and make your day great!

Amanda

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Track Tuesday Speed work: Mile Cutdowns

  1. Looks like a ‘fun’ workout! I’ll have to try it out 🙂

  2. Jamie says:

    Great workout. I will definitely be incorporating this into my training plan! Thanks for sharing : )

Leave a Reply

