Speedwork: Advanced Pyramid Intervals

Speedwork is coming to you on a Friday today, instead of the usual Tuesday. This workout is later training season edition of the pyramid workout that I posted here. It requires that you hang in there for a longer distances with your speed.

Enjoy!

Do a Dynamic Warm-up:

-Walking and pulling each knee into your chest for 20 ft. (gluteal stretch)

-Walking while kicking each leg up at waist height 20 ft (hamstring stretch)

-High skipping 20ft. (entire lower leg and abdominal warm up)

-Bottom kick jog

-Grapevine 20ft. in each direction (also referred to as carioca drills, for hip stretch and foot work)

-Strides: run approximately 50 m building speed up gently from 0-70%, do this 4-5 times

The Workout:

Run 200m at 90% sprint effort, jog 400m

Run 600m at faster than 5k pace, jog 400m

Run 1000m at 5k race pace, jog 400m

Run 600 m at faster than 5k pace, jog 400m

Run 200m at 90% sprint effort, jog 400m

Enjoy!

About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

