Gluten Free in the body, Gluten Free on the Body?

As a lady living with a celiac diagnosis for eight years now, I have gluten free eating down to a science. I am careful when eating out, make most of my meals in my home, and have a list of foods containing gluten imprinted in my brain.

Recently however, I have not been feeling so hot. I am also allergic to dairy, so my diet is quite clean, but over the past year or so I have slowly but surely felt increasingly worse in the stomach department. I also noted that my skin was breaking out more, and I was developing rashes that did not go away with topical skin treatments. The situation was frustrating at best, and alarming to say the least. Blood testing was negative for outstanding disease or infection and my physician sent me on my way.

One day a few months ago my husband, also a healthcare provider took a look at my skincare and makeup bag and asked, in only a way that husbands can, “what kind of garbage are you putting on your body and face? Is there gluten in all of that stuff that could be contributing to your symptoms?” An excellent point that I had not considered.

The Mayo clinic reports that gluten cannot be absorbed through the skin, though it can certainly be ingested through the mouth via lip products, however, they also state the following:

“If you use a cosmetic or skin care product that contains gluten and you develop a skin reaction, see your doctor or dermatologist to identify the cause. It is possible to have an allergy to wheat or another grain that could cause a skin reaction, but this would not be due to celiac disease.” (1).

Suffice it to say, it appears that my expensive department store and Birchbox brand makeup was seemingly contributing to my symptoms. I don’t know a single celiac sufferer on the planet who will tolerate wheat products, and it seems that these molecules can be absorbed through the skin and cause skin irritation, rashes, and other not so pretty reactions.

The next chapter of this frustrating story is much happier. I went online and checked the ingredients on each and every product in my drawer and makeup bag. I threw away expensive brand makeup that rhymes with BAC and other tubes, pots, and pallets (not so happy about that, but no way around it). And then I ran into my sweet college friend Erin at a race. She is also a physical therapist, and a consultant for Arbonne, a swiss made line of gluten free and vegan skincare and nutritional products. I was familiar with the brand but had not used it in several years. She sent me some samples and my skin cleared up and rashes dissolved within a few weeks. I also started taking pre and probiotics available through Arbonne, and this helped tremendously with how my stomach felt, and subsequently my energy levels.

Arbonne Gluten free vegan skincare

This is an important concept for allergy suffers. The products that we put on our skin have molecules that can be absorbed into the bloodstream and can effect our skin and the way we feel. On another note, it came to my attention that the vegan aspect of skincare not only speaks to the fact that our skin is not in contact with dairy, but that there was no animal testing, suffering or by products in the making of the product. Did you know that when a pet, large animal, or roadkill is disposed of, the animal goes to a factory where the animal is crushed and processed through, wherein the fat is separated in a vat and sold to various cosmetic companies for use their products? Disgusting. Really.

So, moral of the story is check the ingredients of your skincare and makeup products. If you are interested in Arbonne, check out their website at: http://www.arbonne.com.  If you like what you see you can shop online by entering consultant number 16804853 and your order will come straight to your door. The consultant number is mine, I partnered with Arbonne after using the product for 1 week because I felt so much better and felt that the product was in alignment with my philosophy and beliefs. As a consultant I do receive financial benefit from purchases made, but I do not partner with companies that do not pass the Amanda Olson (and husband, he has opinions too!) test of product quality and ethics. If the company seems appealing to you, aligns with your philosophy and ethics, and you are interested in consulting, contact me below!

Enjoy, and make your day great!

Amanda

  1. The Mayo Clinic. Diseases and Conditions: Celiac Disease. Available at: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/celiac-disease/expert-answers/celiac-disease/faq-20057879
About runningyourbody

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT), Certified Pilates instructor, and runner with celiac disease. I am passionate about educating people on running, pilates, and women’s health topics. I am trained in the treatment of pelvic floor dysfunction, as well as pre and post partum impairments. In my free time I can be found anywhere outside. I enjoy training for races with friends, cooking gluten free meals, and traveling with my husband. My goal is to share information with you in a lighthearted and enjoyable forum. I am always contributing fun and interesting posts on my blog. Feel free to check it out @ https://runningyourbody.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Women's Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

